Vermont Suicide Prevention Coalition Resources

Coalition Meeting Minutes


December 6, 2018


September 13, 2018


Suicide Prevention Day

at the

Vermont State House

February 14, 2019:





Creating Suicide Safe Pathways in Health Care


Thank you to all who participated in Suicide Prevention Day at the Vermont State House on Thursday, February 14!


Great connections were made with Legislators –  and VT-SPC members and AFSP-VT advocates gained knowledge and skills around suicide prevention advocacy.  Highlights from the day:


  • State and health care leaders made commitments to creating suicide safe pathways in health care: The VT Blueprint for Health, Department of VT Health Access; OneCare VT; VT Program for Quality in Health Care, Inc.; the Agency of Human Services, and the Department of Mental Health.
  • The House Committee on Health Care heard testimony from VT-SPC, an overview of current VT suicide data, a survivor’s perspective, information on older Vermonters and suicide risk, as well as the issues around proper care for the mentally ill in emergency rooms.
  • VT-SPC members and AFSP advocates participated in training led by AFSP’s Area Director, Heather White, on effectively communicating with legislators. This prepared people for conversations with legislators over lunch.
  • Vermonters lost to suicide were honored with flowers passed out to legislators and a Suicide Prevention Resolution was adopted in the House Chamber highlighting VT-SPCs work around Zero Suicide.

Photos from the Day:

JoEllen Tarallo, VT Suicide Prevention Center

Sarah Squirrell, VT Dept. of Mental Health

Beth Tanzman, VT Blueprint for Heatlh

Sean Dillon, AFSP Advocate

Catherine Fulton, VPQHC

Dr. Norman Ward, JoEllen Tarallo, and Sean Dillon

Students from St. Johnsbury

Representative Anne Donahue


AHS Secretary Al Gobeille

Lila Bennet & Terri Lavely, NEKHM

Handing Flowers to Legislators

Julia Hampton and a Legislator

Representative Emily Long and Jen Carr

Reading of Resolution in House Chamber

Testimony to Health Care Committee